Fringeworks - Building Worlds and Breaking Rules - logo graphic
Posts Tagged ‘Colin Fisher’

« Older Entries «        


Grimm Volume One

Paperback: 84 pages
Publication Date: 10th February 2013
ISBN-10: 1909573019
ISBN-13: 978-1909573017

Grimm & Grimmer, Volume 1 is available to purchase in paperback or on kindle at Amazon

Once Upon a Time, there was . . . a big tower with a girl called Rapunzel trapped inside. Have you ever thought about all of the unusual buildings in fairytales and nursery rhymes and who would have designed them? If you want to know who, well, find out from Lynda Collins. And while you’re questioning these fairy tales, did you ever wonder how the Princess managed to feel that pea under all of those mattresses? Was there some sort of conspiracy to gain the throne? You only have to read Jan Edwards’ story to find out. And for that matter, what about the poor bears who had their home invaded? How do the bears feel? And who are the invaders. All questions, which can be answered by Theresa Derwin. As for the Beast – well, is the Beast good or evil? Did the witch who changed him into a beast do something good or something bad? Hannah Lackoff seeks to explore these issues, and maybe muddy the waters even more. In Colin Fisher’s tale we meet a Gretel who is immediately feisty, sarcastic, and quite aware of the absurdity of her situation, and the Witch was more than a little obsessive compulsive. And finally, we meet William Meikle’s version of ‘The Three Little Pigs’ where anything can happen! If you enjoy reading fairy tales that twist and surprise, then ‘Grimm and Grimmer: Volume One’ is for you. Step into our world of fairy tales retold . . .

Table of Contents

Cover – Martin Reimann
Foreword – Adrian Middleton
Building the Dream by Lynda Collins
Beast by Hannah Lackoff
Gretel’s Way by Colin Fisher
Princess Born by Jan Edwards
A Taste of Honey by Theresa Derwin
Pork, Hammy and Chop by William Meikle

Posted by Admin in Fringeworks News on Sunday, January 27th 2013 at 9:26 PM
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | Permalink | Comments Off on GRIMM & GRIMMER, Volume One


Alice Underground

Alice’s Adventures in London, Underground will be a series of historical young adult stories set in the London circa 1858. The premise of the series is ‘the adventures of Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Henry Mayhew’s London Underworld, with a hint of Oliver Twist thrown in for good measure.

In 1858, Charles Dodgson took a photograph of 6-year old Alice Liddell as a beggar girl. This story assumes that the picture was taken shortly after Alice returned home after getting lost on a family trip into London, and that Dodgson, a friend of her family, had been the man that found her.

As the title suggests, each book in the series will be a historical re-imagining inspired by a chapter from Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Each of these stories will continue the adventures of Alice Liddell, but will be written by a different author, drawing on Henry Mayhew’s works, London Underworld and London Labour and the London Poor as primary sources of inspiration.

The series will be edited by Colin Fisher, and authors lined up include L F Robertson and Christer Van.

Posted by Fringeworks in Fringeworks News on Tuesday, December 25th 2012 at 11:50 PM
Tags: , , , , , , | Permalink | Comments Off on ALICE’S ADVENTURES IN LONDON, UNDERGROUND

« Older Entries «